Wk-12-Deep Ethnography

What did you think the experience would be like?Was it “easy” or “hard”? 

Hard. Why because I need elctricity when I have a small baby in the house. I need to use it for the night light or wipe warmer. As soon as he fell asleep I turned off everything and went to sleep myself. Because what else would a mom do when she has free time? SLEEP I tell you! Glorious sleep and it was great because I sleep in a pitch black room and love it. I didn’t care to watch tv or a movie for me fun is when I get to sleep more hours than I’m allowed. #momlife 
“Frustrating” or “Liberating”? 

Never the less is was liberating. I have a 6 month old baby so as soon as he fell asleep I turned off all the lights and sat on my sofa. Pure silence! Who could’ve known it would be pure Bliss! Why because my life now is full of crying, giggles, burps, and so many weird noises that can come from a baby. Lol. 
Did you get better sleep? Are you usually sleep deprived? What would it be like to sleep well every night?

 Yes. Hell yes! I’ve been sleeped deprived for months! What is sleep? To me is something that I have not been able to endulge in for a loooong time.  Man do I miss it.  I’m lucky is I get two hours of uninterrupted sleep. It would be a dream come true to sleep 8-10 hrs of sleep again. 

How is living without electricity more organic or harmonious with nature?

I feel it is organic. I mean electricity is a baby. We’ve only had it for less than 200 years old. But what is organic to us now is electricity. We have been born into it so living without it would be unatural for us. I think the world now would go completely crazy with out it.

How is living without electricity more limited? Is it boring? 

Boring! I mean what would I do without YouTube? Or Snapchat. They are my form of entertainment and connection to the world. Of course with out electricity I believe we could be more creative of physically active to get out there an have some fun or explore new places. But for now I just can’t be without it. I need to heat up my babies bottle, to power his swing and his bouncer. I mean motherhood is already hard and without a little help of electricity to help me entertain my baby boy for a couple minutes so I may run to the restroom. Oh no! 

How do you think people survived without constant stimulation? 

I don’t know maybe that’s why people used to have more children back then, you know to keep them entertained lol. Jk. 

What would be your ideal level of life activity and connectivity? 

My ideal would be as is. Having a young little baby to look after takes up most of my time so using my phone, watching tv or a movie or anything that is a personal entertainment for me is very very very rare. I mean I have maybe an hour or two of my whole day to be able to indulge in technology. So I’m grateful when I have the time to use it. The world is better with electricity and I can not imagine a world with out it. 

Leave a Reply

